Nigel Farage – A Dangerous Mind

IMG_20160617_125740

I have started today feeling more than a little confused. It began when I read the news reports about the leader of UKIP, Nigel Farage, coming out in support of Donald Trump during an interview for CNN. I am confused, primarily because I can’t work out why the story has made me so angry.

As I sit here at my desk this morning, my freshly brewed cup of coffee steaming nicely beside me, while my cat, Snorky, takes a break from walking over my keyboard to drift off into slumber behind my laptop, I am starting to realise that the source of my anger lies in the fact that I perhaps stupidly, naively, blindly – call it what you will – believed that Nigel Farage was better than that.

Borrowing the four words which politicians love to use – let me be clear. I am not a UKIP supporter, nor am I a Nigel Farage supporter. However, I have, in the past, found myself quite liking Farage for the simple reason that he presents an image that is the antithesis of a politician. A pint in one hand, a cigarette in the other, you can imagine him to be some kind of hybrid between the politically savvy man on the street and Keith Floyd. He also has a habit of turning off the filter between his brain and his mouth, the results of which have often flown in the face of the British stiff upper lip, and have, on more than one occasion, made me laugh. Yet, to use Farage’s own quip to the European Parliament yesterday, I’m not laughing now.

To be fair, I stopped laughing yesterday when Farage failed to condemn the hideous display of racist behaviour played out on a tram in Manchester. Perhaps he chose to switch on the filter between his brain and his mouth, therefore preventing himself from angering his party by saying that there is no place in society for ignorant Neanderthals who take it upon themselves to abuse someone else. Incidentally, when I watched the tram footage yesterday, I was struck by the mock bravery of all those on the tram, those who challenged the behaviour of the societal disgrace once said disgrace had left the tram. Still, in spite of Farage’s failure to condemn such behaviour, I would have liked to believe that he was not so ridiculous and ignorant as to come out in public support of Donald Trump. I would have liked to believe that behind that grinning muppet-frog face, there was an iota of sense. Sadly, no.

To come out and publicly state that Donald Trump, the Cheeto-coloured, racist, sexist, misogynist, heartless, unintelligent, devoid of any class whatsoever, pathetic excuse for a man, would be better for Britain than Obama has been, to me shows Nigel Farage’s abhorrent true colours, the likes of which haven’t been seen since Robert Kilroy-Silk stopped pretending he was nice and allowed his racist self to have full rein.

With Nigel Farage not necessarily at the helm, but certainly in a position of power, post-Brexit Britain is embarking on a dangerous journey – and it scares me. I am not scared for myself (I no longer live in the UK), but I am scared for my family, my Muslim and Hindu friends (the racists wouldn’t know the difference if you drew them a picture), my Moroccan and Turkish and Jamaican friends who have no religion but who nonetheless already feel targeted because of their ethnicity.

Recently, I took a trip to York Castle Museum. One of the feature exhibits of the museum is a mock-up of WWI trenches that you can walk through as you look at weaponry and armoury, getting a sense of the horror of war, and reading the personal testimony of the sacrifices which the soldiers – these brave, ordinary men – made in their fight for freedom and against fascism. At the end of the exhibit, you come out into a circular room, the walls of which are filled with blackboards. Guests are invited to write their thoughts about WWI or war in general, on those boards. I thought about the fact that WWI was supposed to be “the war to end all wars”, and yet, a century on, we are still fighting, still killing each other, still hating on the basis of creed, colour, race or religion. We haven’t learned a thing! What I wrote on the blackboard (see the photo above) was a product of the anger I truly felt. Given the words of Nigel Farage and the silence of those who fail to challenge him, it is an anger which shows no sign of abating.

seal

15 thoughts on “Nigel Farage – A Dangerous Mind

  1. I am currently writing a story about a friend whom I lost to the civil war in Sri lanka. Well it’s not entirely about him, I am visiting most of the issues the country faced/faces. Well, I have the same concerns and feeling like you. What worries me about history is that mostly is not only it could be distorted and biased, they say history is usually written by the victor, but not just that but we take the bad from the history and leave the good instead of doing it in reverse. We never learn from it. We use it to fester more wounds, we never find a way to heal it. Well sometimes in some places they do, Hiroshima for example, there seems to be a better message on Peace, but most places no. But, i guess/hope even a minority such as us talking about it and writing about it may change at least one other person.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so sorry about your friend. I know what it’s like to lose a friend, although I don’t know how I would have reacted if I’d lost lost my friend to war. You’re absolutely right. We never learn. But, like you say, even if the minority who have learned can speak out and reach just one other person, it is worth it. Especially if that one other person can, in turn, reach another. It just makes me very sad, but I refuse to let go of the notion that can’t shake hands with a clenched fist.

      Liked by 1 person

      • You might have to wait awhile ha ha, it is becoming bigger than Ben Hur. Also, I am worried that I am going to annoy both Tamils as well as the Sinhalese (two dialects/the sectors of sri lanka), because it’s never one sided. They are both at fault. And I am speaking my mind. I feel sad that my friends demise was a waste. It achieved nothing. So, I have to be careful that I don’t offend in a way that it could be dangerous for me. But at the same time I feel someone has to say what everyone is thinking

        Liked by 1 person

      • You must feel so torn! Still, I feel you must be brave and let the world know what happened (easy for me to say, I know, as I sit here in relative safety in front of my screen), but if no one speaks out, then the world will never know. As for Ben Hur…look at what a classic that became!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes I feel that I must too. Most of the stuff I am writing on this story has been common knowledge, but no one says anything, or either party only says the extreme stuff. each blaming the other, And I think there needs to be voice for the in between. As for the Ben Hur classic, thanks for the vote of confidence, ha ha. you put a smile on my face

        Liked by 1 person

  2. In so many ways what happened last week with the election has made me embarrassed about some of the people in my country. The racism which, as you say, is Neanderthal and uneducated at best. The lies and the things that people believed, such as voting Leave would mean that anyone without a British passport would be marched to an airport and shipped off elsewhere the morning after. And the fact that I spoke to someone who voted Leave because a now dead Prime Minister only told the public in the 50s that Britain was joining the single market and not the EU.

    People say it shows the best of democracy but it’s really showing the worst of other things.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I fully agree! As Andy Burnham, the MP for Leigh, said, “This is not taking our country back. This is taking Britain to somewhere it has never been.” I find the anti-Polish sentiment, which seems to be rising unchecked for some inexplicable reason, particularly hurtful. My uncle Laddie was a Polish airman. He fought alongside Britain in WWII as a rear gunner. He was shot down and badly injured, but survived. After WWII, he suffered racist abuse from those he had fought for, telling him to go back to where he came from. The ignorance is mind-numbing!

      Like

      • I have a lot of time for Andy Burnham after what he did for the Hillsborough Justice Campaign and he’s right here too.

        I’m writing a post on the subject. Please may I borrow your picture and give suitable credit and a link back? I don’t need to, it just perfectly sums up some of the sentiment I want to portray! (As does that story about your uncle actually.)

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, of course you can use the picture! I’d be thrilled actually (and credit and a link wouldn’t hurt either 🙂 ) If you wish to reference my uncle, then please feel free also. If it helps to get a message across, I’m more than happy!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: EU Referendum : Emboldening Unsavoury Attitude | 83 Unsung Heroes

Leave a Reply

