Waiting For Godot (I mean, Amazon UK)

waitingforgodotw-1024x768

Hey folks! Here I am again! I bet you thought I’d fallen off the face of the earth, or that the earth had swallowed me whole. Too bad. You can’t get rid of me that easily, although there have been times over the past few weeks when either of those occurrences may have seemed desirable.

As some of you may know, I’ve been attempting to start a new business. Called “The Crafty Belgian”, my aim is to sell luxury artisan gift baskets and boxes. I had sourced some potential suppliers, had samples of products ready to be photographed ahead of being placed online, business cards made…all I needed was to get accepted to list on Amazon UK. I first applied to sell in their “Grocery” section over two months ago, and still I am waiting for their “ungating (that’s not even a word!) team” to, well, ungate whatever it is that needs to be ungated. (As a writer, never have I been forced to use a non-word with such frequency. I feel dirty now!) I have mailed them frequently, trying – lord knows how I’ve tried! – to get them to speed things up, only to have my efforts rewarded with “Thank you for contacting us. Firstly, we would like to apology (sic) for the lengthy registration process which you have experienced. We appreciate your patience and understanding so far.”  It seems that the use of non-words and bad grammar are customary at Amazon UK, stretching my already paper thin patience and understanding still further. At times I feel as if I am starring in my own, one woman production of Waiting for Godot!

Not to be outdone, I did some research and discovered that I would be able to list my products in the Amazon UK “Home and Garden” section. While not having the same retail pull as the “Grocery” section, at least I would have a chance of selling my wares. I managed to list one of my gift baskets, a delightful, chef-made creation called Gin & Cherry and was ready to list more when personal disaster struck.

My Dad had a stroke.

Fortunately, it was only a minor stroke, and he has come out of it with all his movement and faculties intact, but it was frightening nonetheless, more so given the fact that my Mum had several strokes around 18 months ago, and is only just now getting back to fitness. Quite rightly, the concern over my Dad took all my focus away from business (actually, it took all my focus away from everything), and for a good while I felt myself to be living in a kind of daze, unable to concentrate on anything, a lack of energy for everything.

Now, with my Dad back home and doing well, I feel like I can finally get back to business. I have more product photos to take, more Amazon listings to complete, and, hopefully, plenty of sales to make between now and Christmas! It is to be hoped that things are now looking up, but nevertheless, some things remain unchanged. I have still yet to hear anything definitive from Amazon UK. I guess I am still Waiting for Godot.

seal

3 thoughts on “Waiting For Godot (I mean, Amazon UK)

  1. Pingback: The Prosaic and the Pedestrian | Do Not Annoy The Writer

Leave a Reply

