A Little Prompting

It’s almost 1.15 p.m. I’ve just had lunch and have sat down at my computer, my gorgeous deaf cat Oscar in close attendance. He is perched on my writing pad that lies by my computer keyboard, occasionally patting at my fingers as they tap away at the keys.

So, what to write? I look around for inspiration. Nope. Nothing. I wonder if those lovely folk at The Daily Post have listed today’s prompt yet? Alas, no.

Something about their page does strike me, however. November’s current list of word prompts. Thus far, beginning with yesterday’s word “filthy” and working backwards, their list reads: Filthy. Tart. Fish. Lofty. Flames. Or. Vegetal. Primp. Second Thoughts. Irksome. Relish. Hyperbole. Base. Sincere. Bludgeon. Copycat.

As I writer, I love wordplay. Can I do something with this, I wonder? Let’s give it a try. Here goes!

“You’re nothing but a filthy tart! You strut around, smiling, beguiling, while you fish for compliments. Beware though, my dear. Those lofty ideas you have about yourself will fall victim to the flames of ridicule. Either your egotistical bubble will be cruelly burst, or you will watch as your looks compost down like so much vegetal waste. Oh! You can primp all you want. I still find you ugly. No, on second thoughts, I find you irksome and look forward to bringing you down a peg or two with relish. Even when you speak, your sentences are filled with hyperbole. Your words are base and anything but sincere. You do not caress others with your voice, you bludgeon.” 

I sat back, exhausted, my spleen thoroughly vented. I looked at her, waiting, expecting the inevitable retaliation. She smiled, held my gaze, and then she said simply, “I said exactly the same about you just the other night. So go ahead, throw your insults, but at least I’m original. I’m not a copycat like you!” 

Well folks, what do you think? I’d love to hear your thoughts.

seal

21 thoughts on “A Little Prompting

  1. Oh, to be able to do what you just did?

    I am so impressed! With all that is on my plate between now and January 1, 2017, I doubt seriously that I will be able to write like you, but I must say this, you are definitely an inspiration to a “wannabe writer” such that I am.

    Love reading your prose and this was tops in my book. Just loved it.

    Thanks,
    Irwin

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh my word, Irwin! I don’t know what to say! I did this post to amuse myself, really, and am totally blown away with the response. To have comments such as yours, means the world to me. Thank you so much!
      I hope you find the time to write though. I love reading your work. You have a real conversational tone, that feels like your “chatting” with a friend.
      Thanks so much to you too!
      Eleanor

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: The Nudge Wink Report – Haiku News! Part 3 – Technically, Let’s Get Visual – Poetic News Commentary For The Masses | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  3. Pingback: Some More Prompting | Do Not Annoy The Writer

Leave a Reply

