Retrospective Prose

Taking up the final Discover Challenge of the year which, using the word “retrospective“, urges us to look back at our work over the past year, I was prompted to write – as is so often the case – to pen some prose. It reflects some of my thoughts on the year, as well as my feelings on what I’ve learned and how I’ve changed. 

New Year’s Eve.

The sun sinks to her retreat below the horizon,

Allowing twilight to close her darkened shades on the day,

Before night time lulls the world into dreamless sleep.

It was a clear, cold, moonless night,

The stars shimmering like multitudinous specks of glitter on the black velvet sky.

The air was dry, icy and cold, but taking a lungful of it did me the world of good.

I walked to the end of the street, did a left and cut through onto the canal.

I marvelled at the stillness of the black water.

As I looked,

I fancied that the black water resembled a scrying mirror,

Such as witches use, and that perhaps,

If I gazed long enough,

I could perceive other realms.

I smiled.

Your whole life is on the other side of the glass. And there’s nobody watching.

When you look in the mirror, what do you see?

Do you see the real you, or what you have been conditioned to believe is you?

One is an infinite consciousness,

Capable of being and creating whatever it chooses.

The other is an imprisoned illusion,

Imprisoned by its own perceived and programmed limitations.

I used to be the latter,

But not anymore.

Now I dance to my own rhythm,

And when you dance to your own rhythm

Life taps its toes to your beat.

seal

Leave a Reply

