Hello, 2017!

My first post of the new year! They say that whatever you do on the first day of the year, determines what you will do for the rest of the year. Thus, with that in mind, I determined that tired and slightly hungover as I am, I shall go for a bracing walk and then write!

I shall try to write much, much more this year. Last year, I allowed my thoughts to become distracted by external events, which in turn made my writing lazy and sluggish. This led to a feeling that I was failing at something I loved to do, the one thing that I want to have as a career. And let me tell you, there is nothing more damaging to a writer’s confidence than the feeling of your work going nowhere.

But none of that this year. Negativity begone!

This year, I shall write for me, and only for me. If it pleases me, then that is the only thing that matters. If, in turn, it pleases other people, well then so much the better.

I did say that I would go for a bracing walk, didn’t I? Bracing is one way to describe it. Absolutely bloody freezing would be another, equally adequate description. It was so cold, I saw a teenager with his pants pulled all the way up, and a brass monkey crying his eyes out. Still, if nothing else, it blew away the cobwebs of last night, symbolically taking all the negativity with it.

It was while I was out for my absolutely bloody freezing, bracing walk, that I happened across this rather unusual sign. It was attached to a post just along the canal, and appears to be written primarily in Greek, with the words “No Parking” in English. It’s a rather odd sign to come across on the footpath of a canal in Belgium, I can tell you. For a moment, I thought that I had somehow slipped through a portal into Greece and couldn’t park the donkey I haven’t got. A glitch in the matrix perhaps?

img_20170101_132752

It’s all Greek to me…

I’m now safely back home, thawing out nicely with a steaming cup of Earl Grey tea. Before I sign off though, dear readers, I would just like to wish you all a very Happy New Year, and I hope that 2017 is the year when all of your dreams come true! Health, wealth and happiness to you all!

seal

3 thoughts on “Hello, 2017!

Leave a Reply

