A Candle In The Dark

I love candles. No matter where you are, or whatever the scenario, candles always lend a certain ambience. I guess when most people think of candles, they think of romance – a candlelit dinner for two, for example. For me though, they are much more than that. To me, candles are comforting (I’m not religious and yet I find the sight of candles in a church spiritually soothing), relaxing (a long hot soak in a bubble bath surrounded by candles always does me the world of good), festive and traditional (lighting the Christmas candles is something I dearly love about the season), and atmospheric (where would a ghost story be without a candle suddenly being blown out?)

Candles can represent respect too. I remember once seeing a candle being lit around a coffin, and thinking how it seemed to represent a final act by those left behind for someone they loved. A candle in the dark, lighting the way to another life.

img_20160721_220215-1

Normally, when I try to photograph candles, they come out looking like some indistinct ball of light. I’m quite proud of this one though. To me, it is one of the nicest photos of a candle I have ever taken.

seal

 

4 thoughts on “A Candle In The Dark

  1. Pingback: Ambience: Tree | What's (in) the picture?

Leave a Reply

