Sweet Child Of Mine: A Short Tale Of Horror

Just as I did every night, I climbed the stairs of my home and made my way across the landing to my little girl’s room. It was 8 o’clock, and I hadn’t tucked her in yet, or read her a bedtime story. I entered the room to find her hidden under the duvet, and, by the tremulous way it moved, I could see she was shaking.

“Sweetheart, whatever is the matter?” I asked.

She slowly pulled the duvet from over her head to expose her tear-stained face.

“There’s someone under my bed” she said, her voice barely a whisper.

I smiled and stroked her hair.

“Don’t be silly, sweetie. There’s no one under your bed. Look, I’ll prove it.”

Kneeling down on the floor, I looked under the bed. There, looking straight back at me was my sweet little girl, eyes wide, tears running silently down her cheeks. With a trembling finger, she pointed upwards.

“Mummy,” she whispered, “there’s someone in my bed.”

seal

9 thoughts on “Sweet Child Of Mine: A Short Tale Of Horror

  1. Pingback: Drug Induced Horror | Do Not Annoy The Writer

Leave a Reply

